Davao City Vies For New7Wonders Title


Now that Puerto Princesa’s Underground River has secured one of the Seven New Wonders of Nature, Davao City is one of several Philippine cities aiming to make the next round of Seven New Wonder Cities nomination.

The city government of Davao is pledging its support for the nomination which will pick the top city per country. By being nominated along with Manila, Parañaque, Marikina, Makati, Quezon, Taguig, Bacolod, Cebu, General Santos, Vigan, Legaspi, Baguio, Iloilo, Zamboanga, Tagaytay, and Puerto Princesa, the local government already sees it as an honor.

By March 7, the campaign — currently listed over 1,200 cities — will reduce the number of nominated cities into 300, including the 77 cities voted in Phase 1.one city per country allowed. Until that day, online visitors are asked to name seven cities to be included in the next phase of the competition.

Davao City doesn’t join this kind of popularity contest if not for its track record such as the most peaceful city in East and Southeast Asia for seven years. Through the help of social networking websites, the local government is urging voters through its social media accounts to nominate Davao City in the website of the New7WonderCities.

The Qualification Phase (March 7 – November 23, 2012) will have more than 300 cities to qualify for this phase (one per country plus the top 77 voted). During the Shortlist Phase (November 23 –December 6, 2012), from the top 77 voted during the qualification phase, the New7 Wonders Cities Panel of Experts advises on the selection of the 28 official finalist candidates.

The Finalist Phase runs from December 7, 2012 – December 6, 2013, voting continues across three phases. The official New 7 Wonders Cities, voted by hundreds of millions of people from around the world will be revealed on December 7, 2013.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.