3 Davao Writers Win National Book Awards


THREE Dabawenyo writers won major awards in their respective categories last Saturday, November 17, at the Old Senate Session Hall of the National Museum in Intramuros, Manila for the 31st National Book awards.

The winners are Lolita Lacuesta for The Davao We Know (Anthology in English category, published by Anvil Press); Ricardo de Ungria for Tala Mundi: The Collected Poems of Tita Lacambra Ayala (Poetry in English, UST Press); and Bro. Karl Gaspar for Manobo Dreams in Arakan: A People’s Struggle to Keep Their Homeland (Social Sciences, Ateneo de Manila University Press).

Lacuesta’s anthology is part of the Anvil Press series where residents of selected cities get to write about Davao City where they live—in.

Photo credit: thenoblewanderer.wordpress.com

De Ungria’s book collects all the poems written by Tita Lacambra Ayala and guides the reader of the poems through a critical introduction and reader-friendly way of appreciating and understanding the poems.

Gaspar’s book tells of the epic struggle of the Manobos in Arakan Valley to defend and retain their homeland against various intruders and of the history of Lumad Social Movement that began in Mindanao in the late sixties.

Continue reading at Sun.Star

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.